Youth Activity Courses

+Youth Sailing

Young sailors can try sailing by joining our RYA OnBoard Club where they can try a taster session on a Saturday morning and then move on to joining the Club and sailing regularly throughout the season. Club membership will help them progress through the RYA Youth Sailing Scheme and gain confidence and experience.  

We offer RYA Youth Sailing Scheme Stage 1 and 2 courses throughout the season - these two day courses are closely aligned to the adult sailing scheme but with more emphasis on fun and games. 

For more advanced youngsters, RYA Stage 3 and 4 can be taken as personal tuition at any time to suit, or through membership of our OnBoard Club.

+RYA Youth Sailing Stage 1

Learning to sail can be the start of something new and exciting. This beginner course will take you through the basics. During the two days you will learn how to rig the boat and turn round safely. Stage 1 and 2 courses can be linked into a combined course over four days. RYA Qualifications can also be gained through membership of our RYA Grafham Flyers OnBoard Club.

  Date Duration Price
Mon 10th Apr 2017 to Tue 11th Apr 2017 2 full days (Mon-Tues) £150
Tue 30th May 2017 to Wed 31st May 2017 2 full days (Tues-Weds) £150
Mon 14th Aug 2017 to Tue 15th Aug 2017 2 full days (Mon-Tues) £150
Tue 29th Aug 2017 to Wed 30th Aug 2017 2 full days (Tues-Weds) £150

+RYA Youth Sailing Stage 2

Now you have got to grips with the basics, it's time to improve on those skills. These courses are run over 2 days, giving you the chance to improve on the skills you already have and prepare yourselves for the more advanced modules. Stage 1 and 2 courses can be linked into a combined course over four days. RYA Qualifications can also be gained through membership of our RYA Grafham Flyers OnBoard Club.

  Date Duration Price
Wed 12th Apr 2017 to Thu 13th Apr 2017 2 full days (Weds-Thurs) £150
Thu 1st Jun 2017 to Fri 2nd Jun 2017 2 full days (Thurs-Fri) £150
Thu 17th Aug 2017 to Fri 18th Aug 2017 2 full days (Thurs-Fri) £150
Thu 31st Aug 2017 to Fri 1st Sep 2017 2 full days (Thurs-Fri) £150

+Youth Paddlesports

We use locations at the reservoir and on nearby rivers and we follow the syllabus of the British Canoe Union (BCU) to offer beginner courses through to Coach Training. Youth Paddlepower Passport and Paddlepower Discover qualifications can be achieved by attending our Paddlesports Club which is held at the Centre on Tuesday evenings throughout the season.

+Youth Windsurfing

Youth windsurfers can try windsurfing by joining our RYA T15 Club or by booking a half or full day taster session. We offer RYA Youth Windsurfing Stage 1 courses throughout the season. Just like the sailing, this two day course is aligned with the adult scheme but with more emphasis on fun and games. 

For the more advanced youngsters, further qualifications and expertise can be gained through membership of our T15 Club.