Possibly the best inland sailing venue in the Country

Sailing

Grafham Water Centre is 100 metres from the shoreline of possibly the best inland sailing venue in the Country. The Centre has a large fleet of dinghies to choose from and a team of friendly, qualified and experienced RYA Instructors to guide you. We provide a sailing experience second to none.

Sailing at Grafham

Whether you are sailing for the first time in a Pico, race training, enjoying the excitement of sailing in a multihull, handling an asymmetric spinnaker in a Laser 2000 or learning the finer points of seamanship, the emphasis will be on a hands-on, practical experience in a safe learning environment.  You can choose from a wide range of courses to find exactly what you want.  Courses for beginners are available throughout the season and we have a wide selection of specialist courses for those with previous experience.

Thanks to the wide skill base of our instructional team and the range of equipment available, we can offer coaching at any level you need and can also provide any of the RYA courses in catamarans instead of dinghies, as well as introductory coaching in asymmetric dinghies on request. Please do not hesitate to contact the Centre to help you select the correct course.

+Sailing Taster

Never tried sailing before? Our taster sessions will help you master the basics and get you afloat. Choose either a Full Taster Day or Half Day. Full day starts at 09.30am through to 5.00pm, with lunch provided. Half days run in the morning only from 9.30am to 12.30pm. Taster sessions are designed for people aged 15 years and older. For children below this age, our OnBoard Club runs beginner sessions on alternate Saturday mornings throughout the season.

  Date Duration Price
Sat 17th Jun 2017 Full day £60
Sat 17th Jun 2017 Half day AM £30
Sat 15th Jul 2017 Full day £60
Sat 15th Jul 2017 Half day AM £30
Sat 19th Aug 2017 Full day £60
Sat 19th Aug 2017 Half day AM £30
Sun 24th Sep 2017 Full day £60
Sun 24th Sep 2017 Half day AM £30
Sun 8th Oct 2017 Full day £60
Sun 8th Oct 2017 Half day AM £30

+RYA Start Sailing Level 1

Learning to sail can be the start of something new and exciting. This two day beginner course will take you through the basics. You will learn how to rig the boat and turn round safely. Please let us know when booking if you wish to take the course in a crewed dinghy.

  Date Duration Price
Sat 14th Oct 2017 to Sun 15th Oct 2017 2 Full days £155 FULL
Sat 28th Oct 2017 to Sun 29th Oct 2017 2 Full days £155 FULL
Sat 28th Apr 2018 to Sun 29th Apr 2018 2 Full days £180
Sat 12th May 2018 to Sun 13th May 2018 2 Full days £180
Sat 9th Jun 2018 to Sun 10th Jun 2018 2 Full days £180
Sat 7th Jul 2018 to Sun 8th Jul 2018 2 Full days £180
Sat 8th Sep 2018 to Sun 9th Sep 2018 2 Full days £180
Sat 20th Oct 2018 to Sun 21st Oct 2018 2 Full days £180

+RYA Basic Skills Level 2

An ideal follow up for those who have completed Level 1 or who have some sailing experience. We aim to give you in-depth tuition in sailing the boat effectively round a triangular course and some basic seamanship manoeuvres. By the end of this two day course you should be well on your way to becoming a competent sailor in good conditions. This course can also be run as personal tuition, please contact us for more information.

  Date Duration Price
Sat 8th Jul 2017 to Sun 9th Jul 2017 2 Full Days £165
Sat 19th Aug 2017 to Sun 20th Aug 2017 2 Full Days £165
Sat 30th Sep 2017 to Sun 1st Oct 2017 2 Full Days £165 FULL
Sat 19th May 2018 to Sun 20th May 2018 2 Full Days £175
Sat 25th Aug 2018 to Sun 26th Aug 2018 2 Full Days £175
Sat 29th Sep 2018 to Sun 30th Sep 2018 2 Full Days £175

+RYA Better Sailing Level 3

On completion, the successful sailor will be safety conscious and capable of sailing without an instructor on board in light to moderate conditions. This improver course seeks to bridge the gap between RYA Basic Skills (Level 2) and the five Advanced Modules by offering an introduction to the different modules, allowing sailors to select their preferred route within the sport.

  Date Duration Price
Sat 23rd Sep 2017 to Sun 24th Sep 2017 2 Full Days £165

+RYA Seamanship Skills

On successful completion of this course you will be capable of manoeuvring a dinghy in a seamanlike manner and making seamanship decisions in moderate conditions. It will be assumed that when starting the course you have already mastered the practical skills and absorbed the background knowledge required for the previous levels.

  Date Duration Price
Sat 23rd Sep 2017 to Sun 24th Sep 2017 2 Full Days £165

+RYA Sailing with Spinnakers

On successful completion of this course you will understand how to sail a dinghy rigged with an asymmetric or symmetric spinnaker. It is assumed when starting this course you have already mastered the practical skills and absorbed the background knowledge required for previous levels.

  Date Duration Price
Sat 23rd Sep 2017 to Sun 24th Sep 2017 2 Full Days £165

+RYA Basic Skills Sailing Level 2

An ideal follow up for those who have completed Level 1 or who have some sailing experience. We aim to give you in-depth tuition in sailing the boat effectively round a triangular course and some basic seamanship manoeuvres. By the end of this two day course you should be well on your way to becoming a competent sailor in good conditions.

This course can be taken as personal tuition, please contact us for more information.